What's New in Lightroom Desktop, Mobile and WebAdobe today released version 2.3 of the cloud-based Lightroom (CC) Desktop application, along with Lightroom iOS 4.3 and Android 4.3. In addition to new camera support, new lens profiles, and bug fixes, there are significant new features, including a way to recover recently deleted photo files and new editing tools.

An update to Lightroom Classic was also released – see my Lightroom Classic article for details on this.

If you previously were prompted to agree to auto-update Lightroom Desktop and if you agreed, then go to Help>System Info to verify that you are now using version 2.3. Otherwise to update to 2.3, go to Help>Updates, and on the Apps tab click on Update next to Lightroom  (not Lightroom Classic or Lightroom CC 2015.).

To update Lightroom Mobile, find the Lightroom app in the iOS App Store or the Android app in the Google Play store and update.

In This Article:

(These links above to sections below may or may not work depending on what device and system you are using. If they don’t, then scroll down.)

Lightroom CC Name Change

From now on, the cloud-based Lightroom CC service will be known as “Lightroom“. Adobe is dropping “CC” from most application names, including Lightroom CC and Lightroom Classic CC. When necessary to distinguish among the Lightroom desktop application, and mobile and web versions, the components of the cloud-based Lightroom will be known as:

  • Lightroom Desktop
  • Lightroom Mobile (Lightroom iOS, Lightroom Android)
  • Lightroom Web

This will make it even harder than it is today to find cloud-based Lightroom resources on the web, since “Lightroom” for 10+ years has meant the application now known as Lightroom Classic. You’ll also need to be very clear with those you communicate with about exactly which version you are using. Read my article on the Lightroom name changes for suggestions on how to work through this.

Recently Deleted Photos Are Now Recoverable

The cloud-based Lightroom has been somewhat dangerous to use since its inception in 2017 because, as I warned about, it’s not hard to accidentally have more photos selected than you intend to when you go to delete, and if you’re not paying attention you’ll delete them all. Up until now there has been no way to recover them – but now there is!  Deleted files will now be saved in your account for 60 days, and they won’t count towards cloud storage limits.

To recover deleted files:

  • Go to Lightroom Web and sign in.
  • Go to the Deleted collection, shown as #1 in the screenshot below.

How to Recover Photo Files Deleted from Lightroom

  • To recover an individual file, click on the Back icon  in the bottom left of the thumbnail (#2).
  • To recover more than one, check them (#3), and then  click on the Back icon in the blue bar (#4).
  • To delete photos permanently now rather than waiting for them to be removed 60 days after initial deletion, click on the Trash Can icon in an individual thumbnail or in the blue bar after selecting more than one.

Texture Editing Tool

Now throughout the Lightroom ecosystem – in  cloud-based Lightroom Desktop, iOS, Android, Web (as well in Lightroom Classic) – there is a new Texture slider in the Effects panel and in the brush and linear and radial gradients. (It’s in the Basic panel in Lightroom Classic, and in the adjustment brush and the radial and graduated filters.) Texture adds or reduces contrast around medium-size details, accentuating them or smoothing them out.

Positive values of texture increase presence – making elements in your scene look more real and less like remote two-dimensional representations. Texture for the most part leaves small details, like noise, alone so that they aren’t accentuated, and it leaves large elements – major edges and shapes – alone, so that they aren’t distorted.