Lightroom - What's New!Adobe last night released cloud-based Lightroom Desktop 3.1 and Mobile iOS and Android 5.1. These updates contain support for new cameras, new lens profiles, bug fixes (including macOS Catalina-related), and a few new features.

Lightroom Classic 9.1 was also released – read about it in my Classic article.

In This Article:

(These links above to sections below may or may not work depending on what device and system you are using. If they don’t, then scroll down.)

How and When to Update
New Cameras Now Supported
New Lens Profiles
View and Contribute to Albums Shared with You
Also New in Lightroom Mobile

How and When to Update

How to Update Lightroom Desktop

If you previously were prompted to agree to auto-update Lightroom and if you agreed, then when you open Lightroom for the first time after the update is available, you may be notified that “Lightroom Needs to Do Some Updating” and then you’ll be using the new Lightroom 3.1.

Lightroom 3.0 Desktop Updating

Go to Help>System Info to verify that you are now using version 3.1. Otherwise to update to 3.1, go to Help>Updates, and in the Creative Cloud app, on the Updates tab click on Update next to Lightroom (cloud-based photo service; not Lightroom Classic or Lightroom CC 2015.)

The Creative Cloud app has been redesigned – click on Updates on the left or on Photography to isolate these apps and find Lightroom Desktop (the cloud-based photo service).

When to Update Lightroom Desktop (if Lightroom didn’t auto-update):

I don’t expect any issues with Lightroom 3.1 and updates of this app usually go smoothly, but if you’re not in a hurry to get the new features, it can’t hurt to wait a week or so to make sure that others aren’t experiencing major bugs with it.

If I hear of serious issues with this release I will post them here in this section – please check here rather than emailing me.

Click here to check for bug reports and to report bugs or issues that you encounter.

How to Update Lightroom Mobile

Find the Lightroom app in the Apple App or Google Play store and tap on Update.

Report Lightroom mobile bugs here.

New Cameras Now Supported

The entire Lightroom ecosystem now supports the following new cameras:

  • Canon EOS M200
  • Canon EOS Ra
  • Google Pixel 4
  • Google Pixel 4 XL
  • LEICA SL2
  • Nikon Z 50
  • Sigma fp
  • Sony a9 II (ILCE-9M2)
  • ZEISS ZX1

Click here for a list of all cameras supported by each version of Lightroom (and Camera Raw).

New Lens Profiles

These new lens profiles are available throughout the Lightroom ecosystem:

  • Canon RF 15-35mm f/2.8 L IS USM
  • Canon RF 24-70mm f/2.8 L IS USM
  • Canon RF 70-200mm F2.8 L IS USM
  • Canon RF 85mm F1.2 L USM DS
  • SIGMA 16mm F1.4 DC DN C017
  • SIGMA 30mm F1.4 DC DN C016
  • SIGMA 56mm F1.4 DC DN C018
  • SIGMA 105mm F1.4 DG HSM A018
  • ZEISS ZX1 (DNG + JPEG)

View and Contribute to Albums Shared with You

Back in May we received the ability to invite individuals to contribute to our albums and to view their contributions in Lightroom Desktop, Mobile and Web. (Click here to go to instructions for doing so.) Now in all these Lightroom applications we can view and contribute to albums that have been shared with us.

Once you’ve been individually invited to an album (rather than just receiving a link that anyone can view) and you’ve accepted the invitation by clicking on the link in the invitation email, the shared album will appear on the Sharing tab in a Shared with You section:

lightroom desktop albums shared with you

Lightroom Desktop Shared with You

Lightroom Mobile - Albums Shared with You

Lightroom Mobile Shared with You

You will not be able to edit the photos contributed to the album – the ones you have contributed or others have – only the album owner can edit them. You also can’t export or otherwise save them.

Contributing to a shared album owned by someone else:

If you were granted permission to contribute to the album rather than just to view it, then in Lightroom Desktop you can drag photos to the album to contribute them, or you can right-click on the album, set it as the target album, then select a photo and use the shortcut T to add them.

Lightroom Desktop - add photo to shared album

This adds a rendered copy of your photo to the album – the editing of the shared version can no longer be reset to undo your editing, and the copy is independent of the original version in your library – editing the original more will have no effect on the copy in the shared album and removing the copy will not remove the original. (To update the shared photo with additional editing, right-click on the version already in the album and remove it (choosing OK at the warning dialog), then go back to the original, edit is as desired and then re-add it to the album. Keep in mind though that photos can only be removed within 48 hours of contributing them.